September 27, 2005

  • Tuesday, September 27, 2005


    11:01 p.m. N.Z. time


     


    Here is another e-mail I just received. As I read it, it really helped me to know that there are real people out there, who are becoming aware of the same things that I too am beginning to see.


     


    I thought I would post it so all of us will know that we’re not alone on our journey. And in Christ, it’s a done deal, we’ve already made it.


     


    Hi Barry,


     


    Great blog page. Very insightful.


    It strikes me that hindsight creates a lot of  “if only questions” – some things we think we wouldn’t do over, and some things we would do with much more passion and zest. We block out the really bad bits and amplify the good bits.


     


    The thing is – what we are, is because of what we have done and experienced. What we do and experience was known by God before we were born, and is part of His plan. Every mistake we make is a learning curve, but also a preparation for the next bit of God’s plan.


     


    I have learnt in recent times, that just because I don’t know what is unfolding around me, doesn’t mean that nothing is unfolding. Just like the morning alarm clock that awakens us to a new day, the Holy Spirit sets the alarm bells ringing to tell us when to act. Even when God knows we will miss the target, fail to act, or get the wrong end of the stick completely, it’s all in the plan.


     


    I work for a large company, with all the latest trendy business plans, and constant pressure to work out how to, reserve resources, screw suppliers to the wall, get better ‘partnerships’, etc, and I daily feel more and more alien to the whole concept. God wants us to trust him for tomorrow – we will get what we need today (and that not necessarily being what we think we need) – then we go to work and try to order the world around profit margins and growth targets.


     


    We try to follow God’s directions in our lives (love your neighbor), then we treat our business ‘partners like slaves – tied into contracts and relying on us to provide their bread and butter. We are directed in the Bible to work for our masters with all our heart, but I get frustrated, as the practices I see become more and more alien to the life I try to build outside of work.


     


    I have often thought about this sort of concept – Communism was one man’s way of trying to find utopia – everyone equal and everyone looking after his brother – in theory. Not without a fair, equal!, lovingly and understanding leader (like God?).


     


    The hippy movement used drugs to shoot for the same target under the guise of ‘Peace and Love’. I think the important area of inner peace is inside yourself – after all a happy person exudes happiness, and vice versa. A Spirit filled person exudes all that God can offer.


     


    I once changed jobs (looking for greener pastures), and in the new office, a person who worked there became my friend, and we talked about lots of stuff, including spiritual things. One day this person edged in and out of my office a few times, and eventually admitted that her and her husband had met the Lord the night before. A few days later I got paid off, and never saw that person again, but in hindsight, I now understand why I was put there, and the painful unemployment afterwards is acceptable as it was all ‘in the plan’.


     


    Reading through your blog pages again makes me realize the importance of our own history and experiences. We can use these to impart wisdom, entertain and leave another little something somewhere which might be the main cog that sets of someone’s spiritual alarm clock.


     


    I think I can sense an alarm clock ringing somewhere, but I’m not sure what I’m waking up to yet!


     


    God bless you in a new and exciting way. Keep up the good work.


     


    Your brother in the Lord,


     


    A


     


    This has been an honest letter from an honest brother who’s growing in God.


    I hope it’s blessed you as much as it has me.


     


    I’ll be back………..Maybe


    BMcG