Month: October 2005

  • Wednesday, October 26, 2005


    12.30 p.m. NZ time


     


    I got this e-mail a while back and it was really fun for me to read and I really enjoyed watching my sci-fi brain come up with a reply. I hope you have as much fun reading it as I had in writing it.


     


    This is the e-mail I received from a new friend:


     


    Mean’t to send this back at the beginning of October, sorry dude.


     


    I’ve been thinking for a very long time about the “cosmic” stuff you’ve been yammerin’ about and I’ve got this thing I’ve come up with that explains “reality”. At least for me it does.


     


    It’s easier for many people to look at the universe in all its magnitude and magnificence. That’s the macrocosm of life. But try going the other way, into the microcosm of life.  Think of the atom.


     


    For all intents and purposes the atom is a reflection in structure of the universe, a galaxy of spinning, orbiting bodies. If you understand atomic structure, you will also understand that the atom is not as we see it all, too often drawn to look like a sun with planets orbiting around it.  If anything, it’s more like a large cloud surrounded by another cloud.  This is because the “bodies” that make up the atom are actually smaller than we think, but there is a principle that we do understand even in the simplistic view of atomic structure, “energy” and “magnetism.”


     


    “Stuff” orbits in an atom because of energy (yet to be defined) and dose not “touch” because of polarized magnetism.  North (positive) cannot touch north (positive) nor can south (negative) touch south (negative) and what keeps everybody moving it the attraction of north (positive) and south (negative).


     


    Now here’s the “301″ of Cosmic Theology.


     


    If the components (neutrons, electrons, bosons, etc) in atomic and quantum physics cannot “touch”, then what exactly is “between” them? In a physical world we cannot have “nothing”, there must always be a “something” that can be described by the physicist in physical terms.  We cannot see “air” but we know it exists.  We can describe the “physics” of air and see (prove?) its existence. We know that air is composed of hydrogen and oxygen molecules (in a perfectly pure world of air). We know that those molecules are combinations of specially arranged atoms.  We know that those same atoms are composed of neutrons and electrons.  Quantum physicists even know that those elements can be broken down further into elements such as bosons, gluons and photons.  Sub-quantum elements are being defined every day, but no matter how small we get, there is a principle that stays the same, nothing.  Nothing must exist in our physical world for our physical world to exist.


     


    And here’s my point simply stated.  “Before there was ANYTHING there was NOTHING and before there was NOTHING there was God”. Else wise stated, “Before God created EVERYTHING, He created NOTHING to hold the EVERYTHING.”  The point of that being, God is greater than everything. He is even greater than the nothing. He IS. When He creates “the new heaven and the new earth” (everything, He will totally recreate the “nothing” to put the “everything” into.  Our new life will not be as it ever was before and John in the book of Revelation got a glimpse of that new everything.  The problem being that since it was based on a new nothing/everything concept; it would be like describing the color blue to a blind man.  What do you say to him to explain what color is, let alone blue?


     


    John did his best at describing the glory of God and that best is a mere inkling of the wondrous experience of color. Hey this is not a theology nor a philosophy nor even a solid concept.  It IS something to think about, but not too much.


     


    Thought I’d add my 2 cents into the “Cosmic” realm.


     


    Yours,


    BMcA


     


     


     


    My Reply:


     


    Hey Ho BMcA,


     


    Well I had to read and re-read your e-mail several times through, the first couple of times, to try and figure out what you were yammerin’ on about, and then the next couple of times just for the fun of reading it. I love this kind of stuff. I know we’ll probably never solve the mystery of creation, but it’s really fun to play with it, and try to look at from different angles.


     


    If you had a thousand people standing in a big circle, all holding hands, and in the middle of that circle there was a huge elephant, each person in that circle would give you a different description of what the elephant looked like. It would all depend on the angle of their observation. If you or I were to be transported back to the fourteenth century, and shared our present day world view with the secular and spiritual leaders of that day, we would have more than likely been burned at the stake as a heretic. I mean, they all knew the world was the centre of the universe, and the sun, the planets and all the stars orbited around it. But as our world view expanded, and we gained more knowledge on the workings and extent of our natural surroundings, we have discovered God to be much larger, much more pervasive, much more sovereign and loving, than I think they, in those times, could ever have imagined. As the angle or position of our world view changed and continues to change, so does our understanding of God expand into a Majesty that defies description!


     


    So, how about this angle:


     


    Before God created the universe, there was only God. He spoke (I don’t know how he spoke, for there was no air to carry His words, or what language he spoke in, Hebrew, Aramaic, French, Spanish, English, but somehow He spoke.)  And into His own Being He created a universe of light.


     


    Now from what I’ve read, light, (photon particles) travel at a speed of 186,000 miles per second, and I’ve heard that at the speed of light mass becomes infinite and time itself stops. So it sounds to me like time forms a kind of unpenetrateable sphere that contains the entire universe. Everything within that sphere is moving slower than the speed of light. I’ve always thought of time as kind of an anti-body that keeps sin from breaking out into the timeless Being of God. (But that’s another thought for another yammer.)


     


    Anyway, God creates this universe within His own Being, a universe that keeps on expanding and expanding. What is it expanding into?  How about it’s expanding into Himself? (We move and breathe and have our being in Him.) Maybe what we think of as empty space, that eternal unending dimension of nothingness, is really the very substance of God’s Being?


     


    So, we have a Universe. What if the Universe is really a “cosmic uterus,” created for the specific purpose of establishing a birthing place for all organic life? Just like when you plant a pecan seed, it takes six to ten years before it starts producing pecans. Or, just like when you plant an apple seed, it just doesn’t grow another apple. First comes a tiny sprout, then a leaf or two. That’s about it for the first year. The following year the sprout, that eventually becomes the main trunk of the tree, grows taller producing more leaves and maybe even a branch or two. This process goes on for three or four years, until finally out of one of the shoots, growing on the end of a branch, the first apple blossom appears, followed by a real apple.


     


    The whole point of all this “yammering” is this….: programmed into the DNA of the seed is the entire growth sequence of the tree. So it doesn’t just evolve, (although I guess you could say it does) it emerges according to an exact, pre-sequenced program, that dictates the exact growth pattern that will transpire from that first seed, to the seed-filled apple according to the DNA mandate placed within the original seed.


     


    Now, what if, contained within the original mandate of God’s command, “Let there be light”, was the entire sequence, for the moment by moment, step by step, emergence of all that is? This would include the entire galactic dance, cosmic dust coalescing around tiny black holes that were formed in the first few nano seconds of creation, forming stars that in time would go nova, blasting their substances out across the Universe, only to coalesce again into the next generation of stars and planets. Finally, at just the right, predetermined time, (sequenced within the original mandate of God) we have, on this little ball of star dust we call home, the emergence of organic life. And then, once again, at just the right pre-sequenced time, just as the apple tree is programmed to send out its first little branch, that will itself, at just the right time and place, shoot out a tiny twig that will at just the right pre-sequenced moment, produce the blossom from which will come the fruit…..(The Human Race)….. which is the very thing that the entire living organism (Our Universe, or Uterus, whatever?) was designed to give birth to in the first place.


     


    Hey, like you said, this is not a theology or a philosophy or even a solid concept. It’s just fun to think about, but as you also said, not too much.


     


     I once read you can count the number of apples there are in a tree, but you can’t count the number of trees there are in an apple.


     


    I just love this kind of stuff!


     


    BMcG

  • Monday, 24 October 2005


    10.34 a.m. N.Z. time


     


    Why


    I can’t call myself a Christian


     


    To me, the word Christian means “Someone who is Christ-like.” It would mean someone who thinks like Jesus thinks, and talks like Jesus talks, someone who responds to people and situations, just as Jesus would respond, and I must confess, I’m not there yet.


     


    It would be like me calling myself “Humble,” “Yes, I’m a humble; I go to the First Church of Humility.” “We’re so proud of our humility, we gave our whole movement that name.”  “Come and join us, we will show you how you can be a Humble too.”  Even if someone were actually to receive a “Humility Award,” they couldn’t display it, because the moment they did, they wouldn’t be humble any more. Others could call that person humble, but if they were truly humble, they would never call themselves that, for if they did, they would no longer be.


     


    So, I can call myself a disciple of Christ, a follower of Jesus, because that’s what I am. But can I call myself a Christian….? No, I think not. I would be, however, totally honored if someone else were to catch a slight glimpse of Jesus in me, enough so they might call me by His name. “Oh look, that guy must be a Christian.” Wow, what a privilege to be perceived by others as a person worthy to be called by that name.


     


    BMcG


       

  • Friday, 21st October, 2005


    1:46 p.m. NZ time


     


    Here’s a recent email I got from my friend.  He asked me a very relevant question I thought some of you might be interested in.  So, here’s his email followed by my reply.


     


    Barry–


    A day early, but may you have the happiest of days on this milestone birthday, and many more to follow!


     


    My other thought: and I raise this, not as a challenge to the well-known teachings of Jesus, but because quite often my logic-driven mind requires me to examine dimensions to an issue I haven’t yet seen addressed….


     


    We are taught that the most important thing is to accept Jesus in our hearts—to understand, fully, what he did on the cross was for us and to surrender to his will.  That to approach a relationship with God half-heartedly is not the key to salvation.


     


    That being said, what is your understanding of the fate of people who, not for lack of trying, but due to normal developmental milestones—are never able to GET to that point?  The mentally retarded, the infants, or, in many cases, even the children or adolescents, or non-enlightened adults?


     


    And, to segue the above situations—what about all the levels in between what I might call “spiritual neutrality” and that of full acceptance, belief, and surrender?


     


    I look at my own situation and realize that for 37 years, I never GOT it. I had an awareness of God and Jesus and professed to be a believer and a Christian, and I’ve always been a basically good, honest, hard-working, and caring person, who, —although admittedly a sinner—was never without remorse for them, and never outright REJECTED God.  What would have been my fate had I died before last year—damnation, punishment?  No salvation?


     


    I guess I am troubled in the sense that I know SO many people, good, loving, close people, who aren’t “there” yet and aren’t likely to take steps to get there.  Barry & Mari, what is your understanding–or what can you tell me has been written and/or taught about what is required for salvation, and what leeway is likely to be extended to those who are deserving, but where the real potential for a relationship with God never really “clicked in”, maybe partially due to the fact that we ARE imperfect souls?


     


    Just wondering…


     


    Blessings on you both–


     


    Dan


     



    Hi Dan,


     


    Sorry for the long delay in getting back to you, but your questions were too deep and too important to just answer off the top of my head. So after a few days of prayer and percolation this is what  surfaced within me.


     


    First of all, I know that I know that I know that our God is pure Mercy and pure Grace. Listen to what these few scriptures have to say:


     


    In John 12:32, Jesus says “If I be lifted up from the earth, I will draw all men to myself.” Acts 3:25, says in Abrahams seed all the families of earth shall be blessed.


     


    Romans 5:19-20 says, “So then as through one transgression there resulted condemnation to all men; even so through one act of righteousness there resulted justification of life to all men.” “For as through one mans disobedience the many were made sinners, even so through the obedience of the One the many will be made righteous.”


     


    1 Corinthians 15:22 says, “For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ all shall be made alive.”


     


    2 Corinthians 5:19 says, “Namely, that God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and He has committed to us the word of reconciliation.”


     


    Philippians 2: 9-11 says, “Therefore also God highly exalted Him, and bestowed on Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those who are in heaven, and on earth, and under the earth, and that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”


     


    Ephesians 1:10 says, “with a view to an administration suitable to the fullness of the times, that is, the summing up of all things in Christ, things in the heavens and things upon the earth.”


     


    Colossians 1:16-22 says, “For in Him all things were created, both in the heavens and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities – all things have been created through Him and for Him.  And He is before all things, and in Him all things hold together.  He is also head of the body, the church; and He is the beginning, the first-born from the dead; so that He Himself might come to have first place in everything.  For it was the Father’s good pleasure for all the fullness to dwell in Him, and through Him to reconcile all things to Himself, having made peace through the blood of His cross; through Him, I say, whether things on earth or things in heaven.  And although you were formerly alienated and hostile in mind, engaged in evil deeds, yet He has now reconciled you in His fleshly body through death, in order to present you before Him holy and blameless and beyond reproach.”


     


    1 Timothy 2:4 says, “Who desires all men to be saved and to come to the knowledge of the truth.”


     


    1 Timothy 4:10 says, “For it is for this we labor and strive, because we have fixed our hope on the living God, who is the Savior of all men, especially of believers.”


     


    Titus 2:11 says, “For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all men.


     


    Hebrews 2:9 says, “But we do see Him who has been made for a little while lower than the angels, namely, Jesus, because of the suffering of death crowned with glory and honor, that by the grace of God He might taste death for every one.


     


    2 Peter 3:9 says, “The Lord is not slow about His promise, as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing for any to perish but for all to come to repentance.”


     


    1 John 2:2 says, “And He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world.”


     


    So Dan what do you think, I know what I think, but what I think doesn’t  seem to fit in with what I’ve been told by most of the teachers and preachers I’ve met over the last 30 years.


     


    I think the picture is much bigger than we’ve been led to believe. And we’re just scratching the surface. Sometimes I feel like one of those little water spiders that are so small and so light that their little fuzzy feet don’t even break through the surface tension of the water they’re walking on. As I gaze down into the bottomless depths of God, I can feel the deep within Him calling unto the deep within me, and at last I can feel the surface tension dissolving from under my feet, and I’m sinking into His  Being.


     


     Romans 5:20 says “where sin abounded, Grace did much more abound.” So at this time it may seem like sin is the big “Bully Boy” on the block, but the truth of it is, Grace is even bigger. Sin may be running rampant for a time, but Grace will ultimately swallow it up, and sin will be no more.


     


    Dan, thanks for your wonderful questions, they always make me dig deeper into “The Way, the Truth and the Life.”


     


    Blessings on you


     


    Barry


     


     

  • Monday, 10 October 2005


    4.24 p.m. NZ time


     


     


    Eve of Destruction


     


     


    So many people ask me about “Eve” and how it all happened; I thought I would put this account down as best as I can remember it.


     


     I left the “Christies” in January 1965. I’d just spent four years on the road doing 200 to 300 shows a year. When Randy Sparks and I co-wrote the song, “Green Green”  in 1963, it pretty much summed up my philosophical outlook on life.


     


    “Well I told my momma on the day I was born don’tcha cry when you see I’m gone, there ain’t no woman gonna settle me down,  I just gotta be travellin’ on, Yeah There ain’t nobody in the whole wide world gonna tell me how to spend my time, ‘cause I’m just a good lovin’ ramblin’ man, hey buddy can you spare me a dime” It was all about me, me first, me second and me third.


     


    But as time went by, my exposure to world inequity and the moral hypocrisies I saw, even in my own life, changed the way I felt about everything. But the owners of the group didn’t want us to change. They wouldn’t let us sing anything controversial. They just wanted us to go on singing the shallow, little fun songs we were known for. I reached the point where I couldn’t sing “Green Green” or “Billies Mule” one more time.


     


    So, when we returned from the San Ramo music festival in Italy, I quit. One of the owners of the “Christies” told me if I left the group he would make sure I would never work in Hollywood again; he told me I would be finished in the music business.


     


    And it was true; every door I knocked on was closed to me. Every record producer was out of town, out of the office or just too busy at the moment to see me. Would I please leave my name and number and they would get back to me. But they never did. I couldn’t believe it; I mean I had just spent four years as a lead singer/song writer with one of the biggest groups in the country and I couldn’t even get someone to call me back on the telephone.


     


    I remember walking down Hollywood Boulevard with my friend Paul Potash. We were on our way to a movie and just as we were walking past this music store, I heard my voice coming out from inside. They were playing “Green Green”. There I was; I had $5.00 in my pocket, just enough to go to the movie, buy a popcorn and a Coke. Then right at that exact moment a convertible stopped at the stop sign and playing on its radio was “Chim Chim Charee”. I just stood there dumbfounded, here I was dead broke on the street, (when you only have $5.00 to your name, you’re broke) I’m standing there listening to my voice, coming from two different directions, singing two different songs and there isn’t an A&R man in town that will see me. I felt like an actor playing a part in a movie, who could write a script like this?


     


    A month or so later some friends of mine were introducing their new hit single “Tamborine Man” at Cirros, a one time hot club on the strip. It was Roger McGuinn, Gene Clark, (who’d come through the Christies) David Crosby, Chris Hillman and ?????????? As I recall it was their first public performance and everybody had turned out for the show. All the A&R guys that were out of town must have suddenly come home because they were all there. The Press was there, Bobby Dylan was there, and I was there, and at that moment I didn’t care who was there because my friends were breaking a new sound that had never been heard before, and I was dancing! I loved to dance, whirling, leaping, spinning, swimming under water, just trying to wriggle out of my skin.


     


    Right in the middle of my self-generated euphoria, someone nearby called my name, “Hey Mac,” (as I was called in those days) “What you doing these days?” I danced over to his table and told him I was dancing, he said “Yeah, yeah, but are you singing?” Right away he had my attention. “No, not right now, no one wants to see me.”  He introduced himself, “My name is Lou Adler.”  He invited me to sit down at their table saying, “ these are some of my friends, Phil Sloan, Steve Berry and Bob Dylan.” I said something like “well it’s great to meet you guys, what’s up?”


     


    Lou told me that Phil was writing some new tunes and they were looking for somebody to sing them. He asked me if I would like to come by his office next week and give them a listen. I said “Sure, I’d love to.” So Lou gave me his address and phone number and I danced off into mental oblivion.


     


    Three days later, I was staying with a friend in North Hollywood when the phone rang, it was Lou. “Hey Mac, you’re a tough guy to track down. I thought you were going to come by and see me this week.”  I told him I’d lost his number. He asked me where I was and told me to stay right there and he would send a car to pick me up. Two hours later I was sitting in Lou Adler’s office listening to Phil Sloan’s new tunes. They were very cool songs and Phil’s lyrics were saying exactly what I felt. So we set a recording date for a couple of weeks later.


     


    It was a three hour session. We’d finished two songs and Lou thought the third song sounded too much like the first song, so he said let’s do something else. I’d been working on “Eve” and had the hand-written lyric sheet in my back pocket, so I said I would really like to do “The Eve of Destruction.” Lou said, “Let’s go for it.”


     


    So I pulled out the wrinkled up piece of notebook paper, smoothed out all the wrinkles as best I could, and hung it on the music stand over in the corner where I’d been singing. None of the musicians that day knew the song, so Phil went through it twice, all four chords.  Hal Blane said, “We got it, let’s cut it.” So with Hal on drums, Phil on guitar, and Larry Knechtel on Bass and me over in the corner singing the words from the wrinkled up paper, Bones How pushed the red button and it was a done deal. One take.


    I missed the high note in last chorus, so we did a very rough punch in and that was it, we were out of time. Our three hours was up and another band was out in the hall waiting to get in the studio.


     


    I didn’t like my vocal because I had missed the last note in the chorus and there was a place in the song where I go, aaaaaaaaugh, you can’t twist the truth….. The reason for the aaaaaaaaaugh, was because I lost my place on the wrinkled paper. I wanted to re-cut the vocal track but we were out of time, so we decided we would come back next week and re-do the vocal.


     


    I think that was on a Thursday afternoon. The next day Ernie Farrell, who was a professional photographer as well as a record promoter, came by Lou’s office to see if he had anything new. While Lou was out of his office, Ernie picked up a couple of dubs off of Lou’s desk. “Eve of Destruction” was one of those dubs. He went straight from Lou’s office to photograph a birthday party for a young teenage girl whose dad was the program director for KFWB.  In 1965 KFWB was the number one rock station in Los Angeles.


     


    After a few shots Ernie ran out of flash bulbs, so he went out to his car to get some more, and he saw the dubs he’d picked up at Lou’s, so he thought “Hey, I think I’ll play these for the kids at the birthday party and see what they think.” So he did, and when he played “Eve” the kids said, “Can you play that one again?” And he did, two or three more times. The girls grabbed the dub and ran into the house and said, “Dad, dad, listen to this.”


    He did. He then told Ernie that if Dunhill could get this record mastered, pressed, and shipped by Monday A.M. he would go on it as a “Pick to Hit” for that week.


     


    Ernie called Lou, as usual Lou couldn’t find me, so he got some background singers to go “ooooooooh, aaaaaaaaaah” and over the weekend he mixed it, mastered it, pressed it, and shipped it. So four days after I recorded it, I got a call at the North Hollywood number where I was staying, saying “Barry turn your radio on to KFWB.” I did and there it was, “The Eve of Destruction” it still had the “aaaaaaaaugh, you can’t twist the truth…..” line in it because I never got to back in to record over it. Sometimes raw and naked is the way it’s supposed to be. Over the years people have said to me, “Wow, you really sound angry and frustrated in that song.” I always tell them “Yeah I was, I couldn’t read the words on that dumb piece of wrinklie paper.


     


    When the song hit the charts I started getting all kinds of hate mail. “Go back to Russia you commie Bum.” Years later I found out they even had an F.B.I. file on me. They immediately labelled the song a “Protest Song” which to me it never was. If you go to a doctor and he tells you, you have a melanoma that needs to be removed, do you call him a protest doctor, I don’t think so. To me “Eve” was, and still is, nothing more than a societal mirror, reflecting back at the world the hypocrisy of this present age, Political hypocrisy, Industrial hypocrisy, Social hypocrisy, Spiritual hypocrisy. The song offers no answers, it just asks the questions and hopefully the listener will wake up and look around.


     


    Years later I wrote and recorded a song “If you’re still alive and you can hear this song, you know this world cannot survive ‘cause somethin’s all gone wrong, you may not like hearing it, you could be right in fearing it, but this world of ours is dying and you know it won’t be long till it’s gone. So don’t blame God for the sins of humanity, the human race has fallen from the ways of the Lord, Yeah, don’t blame God for the sins of humanity, livin’ for the dollar we’ll be dyin’ by the sword.”


     


    Not a happy song, but sometimes I feel like a passenger on the Titanic, running up and down the companion ways, shouting, “The ship is sinking”, but everyone is so busy wheeling and dealing, so busy making money and chasing their sensual fantasies, they’re just not interested. And the few who are trying to do the right thing, just don’t know what the right thing is to do.


     


    How about you, do you know what the right thing is to do………?


     


    I still sing “Eve” because I feel it’s more valid today than it was when I first recorded it forty years ago.


     


    Rodney King once asked “Can’t we all just get along?” The truth of it is, without a common God or a common enemy, human beings just don’t seem to be able to get along…………..What do you think?


     


    BMcG

  •  


    Saturday, 1 October 2005


    4.28 p.m. NZ time


     


    COSMIC THEOLOGY


    101


     


    The


    200 %   SOLUTION


     


     


    About fifteen years ago, my wife, Mari and I discovered something new about this man named Jesus Christ. It seemed to us He is a two hundred percent person.


     


    He’s a hundred percent man, and a hundred percent God. Not half and half, half God and half man, but a hundred/hundred, totally God and totally man, all at the same time.


     


    Then as we started considering what the scriptures were telling us, we discovered “The Full Gospel” to be a 200 % Gospel.


     


    Think about it. First we read, we “war” not against flesh and blood, but against spiritual forces of wickedness. Then it goes on to say, we are given the “peace” of god that passes all understanding. So it would seem that we are a hundred percent at war, and a hundred percent at peace all at the same time.


     


    Then we read, we are saved through “faith,” not as a result of works that no one should boast.  But as a result of Abraham’s “works,” his “faith” was perfected.” So again, we have a two hundred percent reality going for us. A hundred percent faith and a hundred percent works, all at the same time. Not half this and half that, but all this and all that.


     


    Then we get to the big one, is it Freedom of Choice or Predestination?


     


    Here we go again. Paul says, “God chose” us in Him before the foundations of the world. Then Paul goes on to say, “He predestined” us to adoption as sons.  So it sounds to me like it’s already a done deal, because Paul goes on to say, we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to God’s purpose. Even Jesus said, we have not chosen Him, but He has chosen us.


     


    Then there’s the “Flip Side.”


     


    We read, “if” my people who are called by my name, and we read, “choose you” this day who you will serve. Then it goes on to say, a blessing “if” you obey, or a curse “if” you disobey,”  all of these “IF” youse and, “CHOOSE” youse give me the impression that I have the “Freedom” to “choose” my destiny, “if” I want to.


     


    So it is a two hundred percent reality, One hundred percent “Freedom to choose” and one hundred percent “Predestined” before the world began, all at the same time.


     


    One hundred percent at War, One hundred percent at Peace.


    One hundred percent embattled, One hundred percent Surrendered.


    One hundred percent Aggressive, One hundred percent Passive.


    One hundred percent at Work, One hundred percent at Rest.


    One hundred percent by Law, One hundred percent by Grace.


    One hundred percent Predestined, One hundred percent Free Will.


    One hundred percent Alive, One hundred percent Dead.


     


    All at the same time!!!!!!!!!!!!!


     


    It’s kind of like an Eagle with two wings. Without both of them, it can’t fly a lick. But one wing is “War” and the other wing is “Peace,” one wing is “Predestination” and the other wing is “freedom of choice,” etc, etc, and on it goes.  Our natural thinking minds find it very difficult to accept two seemingly opposite realities at the same time. So what do we do? We keep the wing we like, and cut off the one we don’t like.


     


    But then the Eagle can’t fly. So it’s doomed to go around in circles, gradually descending into oblivion.


     


    How can we live in two opposite realities at the same time? Simple, just accept the fact that “you” can’t do it, and you will discover that the Spirit of God is already doing it through you.


     


    I used to think I had to die to myself, so God could live through me. But now I find, it’s only when I come in total surrender, and die to the demands of the strong man, die to his threats of punishment, die to his fantasized promises of rewards that I’m truly free. It’s only when I place all of that on the altar, and expose it to the presence of God’s love, that the “I” within me comes alive and I can experience being one with Christ, and the reality of “I am that I am.”


     


    Yes, I do die, but not biologically. I die to the threat of punishment that fills me with fear and guilt. I die to the promise of reward, that does nothing more than ignite my longings and inflame my jealousies and my insatiable lusts and greed.


     


    The strong man is dead. He has lost his power over me. Now I have a new husband. Now I am the bride of Christ. I am dead to the old law of sin and death, and now I’m married to the higher law of Love and Life.


     


    I find when I am totally dead to the outcome or the results of every situation; it’s then that God is free to move through me, free to respond in whatever way He might choose. I can actually sit back and enter into His rest, all the while watching Christ use my body, my back, my arms, my voice to address whatever it is that’s taking place around me. When I’m dead and surrendered to God in Christ, my body is no longer mine, it is His instrument, His temple. It’s His temple, His body, His back, His arms, His hands, His mind and His voice to think and speak whatever thoughts and words bring Him pleasure. While I, His bride, fully experience the reality that He is allowing to happen all around me. Without the least bit of fear or worry in what He is doing, having total confidence in His omnipotent ability to finish His history of man, and to bring to fulfilment His eternal plan of love.


     


     So there it is! How to become one being with Christ in God. It’s a two hundred percent reality. A hundred percent God and a hundred percent me, all at the same time. Think about that, itsee bitsee teeny weeny tiny little nano  speck of near nothingness, me, merging with the eternal, immeasurable, all powerful, all knowing, from ever lasting to everlasting, I am that I am, Being that breathed the Universe into existence. What can I possibly say in His presence?  How can ‘I’ tell Him what He should be doing? Even Jesus said He did nothing of His own; He spoke no words of His own. Jesus only said and did what He heard and saw His Father doing. I can only surrender myself to His wisdom and love, knowing that whatever happens to me, indeed what ever happens to this whole world, is His perfect will. It’s the good and evil program running its course, transmuting His children into the exact likeness of His Son.


     


    And he endures the tragic horror of it all. But that’s another journey into “Cosmic Theology 101.”


     


    Until our next moment,


    BMcG


     


    (Say, what do you think? What do you believe? What do you “KNOW” to be real?


    If you’re out there E-mail me, and let me know.)