September 29, 2005

  • Friday, 30 September 2005


    10.43 a.m. NZ time


     


    COSMIC THEOLOGY


    101


     


     


    I met a cosmic cowboy, ridin’ a starry range


    He’s a supernatural cowboy, an’ He’s dressed up kinda’ strange


    At first I didn’t see Him, bein’ out there on the run


    But that ol’ hat that He was wearin’, shinin’ brighter than the sun


    An’ when my eyes adjusted, to the flashin’ of His smile


    I saw His invitation, sayin’ come on Barry we’ll go ridin’ for a while


     


    We rode along together, for more than half a day


    Right out through the changin’ weather, the sky was all turnin’ grey


    Chilly winds were blowin’, the cold was cuttin’ deep


    Then it started snowin’, an’ the trail was gettin’ steep


    I was just about to turn around, head on back down the way we came


    When somehow, without a sound, I heard Him call my name


     


    Lookin’ up I saw we was high up on this ridge


    He took me by my arm, an’ led me right over to the edge


    I was so scared I couldn’t find a single word to say


    I mean there’s ten thousand feet of empty air an’ it’s just about an inch away


    But a million miles was out beyond the wavin’ of His hand


    An’ I was lookin’ through His eyes, right into another land


     


    He said, “This is my Father’s ranch, just as far as you can see


    He made it out of nothin’, every branch an’ every tree


    Made the stars an’ all the mountains, the rivers an’ the streams


    Made the oceans an’ the fountains, an’ the valley of your dreams


    That’s right, I know that place you been lookin’ for, that place you long to be


    Truth is I’m the only door, you’re gonna have to pass right through me”


     


    Then bendin’ back I tipped my hat to look Him in the eye


    He just smiled an’ gave me confidence, sayin’ “Go ahead an’ try”


    Well, it was now or never, an’ I knew I had to start


    So I took my first step an’ I went fallin’ deep into His heart


    First thing that I noticed comin’ out inside


    Was all my fears were washed away, He’s teachin’ me I can fly


     


    Yeah, there’s a cosmic cowboy, an He’s ridin’ a starry range


    He’s a supernatural ploughboy, an’ He is dressed up kinda’ strange


    At first I didn’t even see Him bein’ out there on the run


    But that ol’ hat that He was wearin, shinin’ brighter than the sun


    An’ when my eyes adjusted, to the flashin’ of His smile


    I saw His invitation, sayin’,  “come on Barry, we’ll go ridin’ for a while”


     


    Cowboy, of the light, shootin’ rainbows through the nigh


    He’s my Cowboy, of the light, shooting His rainbows


    Golden rainbows, eternal rainbows through the night